Flaming Archipelago

April - May 2019, Vadim Sidur Museum, Moscow, Russia.

Spot for establishing connections between humans and plants in urban environments;
«Seedlings school», video , 22:27, 2019

The coastal lines of Kotlin Island have changed during the construction of the dam on the Gulf of Finland. Soil layers, accompanying building rubbish and debris have turned into a new land with an area of 1,5 square km. Cambrian clay, broken stone, silt, plastic, metal and sand – it’s a strange hillocky, windswept place between a highway, water-purifying ponds, an area landfill and the bay. The locals refer to it as Patagonia.

With no stable ecosystem of its own, the ‘Patagonia’ has become a welcoming home for all kinds of different runaways and migrants. The clay soil has been overgrown with birches and pines, liverworts and lupines. The ponds have grown full of reed, buttercups and spotted lady’s slippers. The prospect of a new life has brought here dogs, fishermen, birds and lizards. The sands have become dotted with tiny gardens the islanders laid out. These gardens must have been the place seaberry eloped from to take part in a new fragile and unstable ecosystem.

When we say ‘nature’, we normally think about communities with a long line of evolution and a dearly bought balance: a vast and heavy oak forest, a bright flowery meadow, a dark and crispy white-moss spruce forest. Such places are precious in many ways. As compared to them, the plant communities we meet on everyday basis – urban parks and mats of weeds, woodlands along the highways, no-one’s bushes behind the concrete guardrail, community landscapes created by indifferent municipal authorities – seem pathetic, fake, illusionary.

Exactly such islands of forever-young blurred ecosystems, which gradually cover the planet, turning ‘older’ ecosystems into rarities, all the while keeping their reputation of secondary and inauthentic phenomena, form the Archipelago in Flame.

The Kotlin Patagonia tempts us, gently doubting its own phantom status. Temporary wilds on discarded soil can be intricate, unpredictable, independent and wilful. This wilfulness is the result of unexpected and antinomic plant communities, intent imagination of crows, children and dogs, weary and mysterious affairs of urban dwellers.

With its long thorns and beautiful silvery leaves, and its so hard-to-get eye-catching berries, seaberry easily crossing from a garden to a gully and back can play the role of a messenger of the Archipelago Aflame. This pioneering plant flourishes in the very areas where the balance of an ecosystem has been lost: pebbled or sandy barrens, frosty mountains and floodplains of aggressive rivers. It thrives no less easily on vacant patches of industrial and urban systems.

A couple of hundreds of seedlings of Kotlin seaberry running wild will arrive to the Sidur Museum to spread through novel urban ecosystems with the help of Perovo inhabitants and guests from other Moscow localities.

The Archipelago Aflame invites the domesticated urban animals to join urban plant communities. To do it they must try to establish new links with minuscule seedlings of thorny and bright plant from afar.

One may wonder about the kind of soil in Perovo, the amount of water in it and light above it. One may ask about the quiet corners safe from people with lawn-mowers. My care may help the plant new to the community to take roots in an unfamiliar world. A new strange and undesirable guest may appear in Moscow. Am I ready to enter this new, vulnerable and unclear communication?

Пылающий Архипелаг

Апрель - май 2019, музей Вадима Сидура, Москва.

Точка установления связей между людьми и растениями в городских средах;
Видео «Школа саженцев», 22:27, 2019

Черты острова Котлин изменились во время строительства дамбы через Финский залив. Поднятый со дна залива грунт, побочный строительный мусор и обломки стали новой землей площадью в полтора квадратных километра. Кембрийская глина, щебень, ил, пластик, металл, песок — странное бугристое продуваемое место между скоростным шоссе, водоочистными прудами, городской свалкой и заливом. Местные жители называют его «Патагонией».

Не имея собственной устойчивой экосистемы, Патагония стала гостеприимной для самых разных беглянок и переселенцев. Глина зарастала березой и сосной, печеночными мхами и люпинами; пруды — тростником, кубышками и пятнистыми орхидеями. Новая жизнь привлекла собак, рыбаков, птиц, ящериц. На песках появились крошечные сады островитян. Скорее всего, именно из них сбежала облепиха — сбежала, чтобы стать участницей новой, хрупкой, нестабильной экосистемы.

Говоря «природа», мы в первую очередь представляем себе сообщества с длинным путем становления и сложно достигнутым равновесием: просторная и тяжелая дубрава, ярко цветущий луг, тёмный и хрустящий ельник-беломошник. Места, заповедные во всех смыслах. По сравнению с ними растительные сообщества, с которыми мы повседневно встречаемся — городские парки и сорняковые пустыри, лесопосадки вдоль трасс, ничейные кусты за бетонными заборами, равнодушное «озеленение» от муниципальных органов, — кажутся обедненными, ненастоящими, призрачными.

«Пылающий архипелаг» — это архипелаг именно таких вечно юных, зыбких экосистем, которые постепенно заполняют планету, переводя «старшие» экосистемы в разряд диковинок, но при этом все равно сохраняя свою репутацию вторичности и неподлинности.

Котлинская Патагония соблазняет нас, мягко сомневаясь в своем призрачном статусе. Временные заросли на ненужной земле могут быть сложными, непредсказуемыми, самостоятельными и своенравными. Эта своенравность сплетается из неожиданных и противоречивых сообществ растений, внимательного воображения ворон, детей и собак, осторожных и таинственных дел городских людей.

Облепиха, легко переходящая из сада в овраг и обратно, с длинными колючками и красивой серебряной листвой, тяжело собираемыми и очень притягательными ягодами может стать для нас одной из посланниц Пылающего архипелага. Это растение-пионерка процветает как раз в местах, где было утрачено растительное равновесие: галечные и песчаные пустоши, морозные горы и поймы агрессивных рек. Так же легко она приживается и на пустующих обрывках индустриальных и городских систем.

Пара сотен саженцев одичавшей котлинской облепихи прибудут в Музей Сидура чтобы с помощью жительниц и жителей Перово и гостей из других частей Москвы распространиться по новым для себя городским экосистемам.

Пылающий архипелаг предлагает городским человеческим животным стать частью жизни городских растительных сообществ. Для этого нужно попробовать вступить в новые отношения с крохотными саженцами колючего и яркого растения с далекого острова.

Какая в Перово почва? Много ли в ней воды? Много ли над ней света? Какие уголки обходят стороной люди с газонокосилками? Поможет ли моя забота прижиться новому растению в новом для него мире, переживет ли оно первую зиму? Появится ли в Москве новый странный сорняк? Готов/а ли я вступить в новую, уязвимую и неясную связь?